Journey of reconnecting with nature and books that I’m reading to do so

Its been months since I picked up a book to read, after watching Outlander I became fascinated with learning more about plants and their role in our lives. I found that I wanted to connect more with mother Earth and learn how to communicate with her on a spiritual level. I also wanted to learn how to nourish my body naturally with plants instead of relying on medicine. I remember as a child traveling with my grandparents who were taking care of me at that time back in Colombia. My grandparents would travel to this far away village where there was a church on hill, on that church there was a medicine man that had a small shop. In that shop I remember seeing all sorts of plants that were in these small cabinets on this big shelf. My grandparents would explain to him how they were feeling or what ailed them. The natural medicine man would then go and get specific plants which he would place into the white pouches. Afterwards he would explain to them how often and how to take the plants. Afterwards we would go back home and I remember seeing the effect that the plants had on the faces of my grandparents it was of happiness and health. I always remembered feeling happy whenever I went to visit the Natural medicine man as that followed a trip to be one with nature and run in the meadows. Its been around 20 years since those times and I still remember like it just happened yesterday. I started researching how I could be connect with nature and be healthier, I came across Susun Weeds Wise Woman Center while browsing the internet. I instantly knew that I had to start reading her books and learning more. I finally purchased 2 books which are “Healing Magic: A Green Witch Guidebook to Conscious Living” by Robin Rose Bennett which Susun recommended on her website and “Wise Woman Herbal for the Childbearing Year” by Susun Weed. So far I really am enjoying both books they help us connect with the Earth, plants, green allies what they offer us if we are willing and open to receive they’re help.

In “Healing Magic: A Green Witch Guidebook to Conscious Living” it is a guide to helps us reconnect with nature and her role in our lives. That we must be respectful to everything around us and shows us how to connect if we want to our friends plants who have and always will be there to offer they’re help. As of right now I’m up to chapter 3 and really enjoying what is in this chapter. The chapter is about Moon Magic and Women’s Wisdom, that we must embrace being women and how to bathe under moonlight. I recall in my teenage years looking up to the moon and being fascinated by her beauty and light. As for the previous chapters Part One: Reconnecting with the Earth and has a guide on how to achieve this. As for part Two: Engaging Mystery is about The Seven Chakras and how to differentiate between them. The foods that we can eat tune in to them, colors, plants, meaning and sounds that helps us open up to them.

In “Wise Woman Herbal for the Childbearing Year” is a guide on different stages of pregnancy. On how to prepare and nourish your body with plants beforehand, during, and afterwards. It truly is very helpful and eye opening every girl, woman, elder should read this if they haven’t done so already. I will be posting more on my journey with plants, learning from them and how I will be feeling in upcoming months so you can all look forward to that. Also I will be posting follow up posts on upcoming chapters of both books. The next step for me is to purchase some wonderful plants that are recommended in “Wise Woman Herbal for the Childbearing Year”. I’m really looking forward to planting and growing together with these wonderful green allies of us all. I will post links below to the books mentioned in my post and Susun Weeds website if you are looking for more information on who she is and what herbalism is about.

Links

Healing Magic: A Green Witch Guidebook to Conscious Living
by Robin Rose Bennett

Wise Woman Herbal for the Childbearing Year
by Susun Weed

Wise Woman Center website

Facebook Group

Leave a Reply

